Why was my Instagram account deleted?
It can be very disheartening to just wake up one day to see that your Instagram account has either being disabled or deleted by Instagram. It can get even worse if it is your business Instagram account! Imagine all the stress, time and resources you’ve had to put in to grow the account to what it already was before it got deleted. Also, you might have a lot of your clients connecting with you on your business via Instagram.
Many Instagram users complain about Instagram deleting their account for no reason. What we fail to understand is that Instagram has policies guiding users. A breach of these policies could attract sanctions such as Instagram action block, temporary disabling of your Instagram account or worse still, a permanent deleting of your account.
Why Instagram deletes an account
There are various reasons why your Instagram account can get disabled or deleted. Most of us fall victims because we are ignorant. Wait a minute! When last did you read up Instagram policies? Have you even read them at least once? If your business is on Instagram, then I would advise you to read up Instagram policies right now. Ten or fifteen minutes is not too much to spare to safeguard your business on the gram.
Most times, your account gets deleted without any form of prior notice. You’ll just see that the next time you try to log in, it gives you a ‘username not found’, ‘your account has been disabled’, or ‘we are sorry, something went wrong’ error. However, recently, Instagram has updated its policies to include notifying you if your account is in danger of getting deleted.
Here are some things to look out for to prevent your Instagram account from being deleted.
- Inactiveness - Your account could get disabled if you have been inactive for a long time.
- You may have been reported several times by persons who find your posts offensive and inappropriate.
How can I get my disabled Instagram account back?
The good news is that there are ways to get back your account back hopefully if it has been temporarily deleted or disabled. Instagram has made it possible for users who think they didn’t violate their policies to make an appeal for their accounts to be restored. Even though it may take some days to completely restore your account, it is worth the wait compared with the hundreds of hours you must have invested in growing your Instagram account or even the years of memories and connections you may have built on the account. Here are some steps you could take.
- You could try contacting the customer support. It’s quite easy. On the Instagram login screen, You will see ‘get help signing in’ just below the log in icon. Fill in your username, email or phone number and click on ‘next’. Tap on ‘my login info isn’t working’ and follow the promptings to recover your account.
- If you get a message that your account has been disabled, one of the first things you will be prompted to do is ‘Learn more’. When you click on this, you will receive a guide on how to get back your Instagram account. Follow the in-app prompts, but note that you will have to pass the appeal process before you can get your account back. Like I earlier mentioned, this process may take a little longer than expected. Your patience is also important here as you might have to submit more than several appeals a day until your account is restored.
- Another alternative is to submit appeals via Instagram’s official page. Just fill in the required fields and send. As much as possible, avoid apologizing as this would imply that you were at fault in the first place. At a point, you may be required to submit a selfie as part of the verification process. Do not back down. Keep submitting appeals until you come in contact with a more lenient moderator.
In some cases, it is impossible to recover a deleted Instagram account back if it was deleted permanently. In this case, you may just create a new account with the same username (if you still wish). However, bear in mind that you would not be able to recover your photos, videos, followers or any other information on the old account.